Advertise/Login

Oregon DUI Laws, Penalties, and License Suspension

Oregon drunk driving laws have become more and more complicated and the penalties are more harsh that ever. The amount of alcohol a person can consume is becoming less and the effort to crack down on DUI's is rising. Most people arrested for drunk driving Drunk Drivinghave never been in trouble with the law before, this will be the first time they were handcuffed, put into the back of a police car, and tried by the state in court.

The DMV and court process is confusing and there is no room for even the slightest error. Knowing the laws, penalties, fees and process is extremely important. The biggest mistake you can make is assuming that you don't need to speak to a lawyer. DUIs are very complex and a lot is at stake. If you plead guilty to a DUI, your guilty. No reducing, no plea bargaining, just guilty. Give your case a change, talk to a lawyer. You can schedule a free, no obligation consultation with an attorney today by calling (877) 678-5640.

Oregon Laws

The following driving actions are illegal in the State of Oregon:

  • All drivers with a BAC of .08 or higher.
  • Under 21 with a BAC of .02 or ZERO Tolerance.
  • Commercial Vehicle Driver with a BAC of .04 or higher.

Oregon Penalties

First Drunk Driving Conviction
The first time you are arrested for drunk driving in the State of Oregon you will receive a mandatory 1 year suspension of your drivers license. You will also spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail or be ordered to serve 80 hours of community service. The fine for your first DUII in Oregon will be a minimum of $1,000. You will also be charged with other fees such as a $40 assessment fee, $130 fee for an intoxicated driver program, $95 unitary assessment fee, a county assessment fee of $59, and a $90 diagnostic fee. All DUII convictions must receive a mandatory alcohol evaluation to determine the extend of their alcohol problems.

Second Drunk Driving Conviction
If you are convicted of a second DUII in the State of Oregon you will receive a mandatory suspension of your drivers license for a period of 3 years if the offense occurred within 5 years of the first. You will also spend from 48 hours to 1 year in Jail. The fine for your second drunk driving conviction will be a minimum of $1,500. You will also be charged with other fees such as a $40 assessment fee, $130 fee for an intoxicated driver program, $95 unitary assessment fee, a county assessment fee of $59, and a $90 diagnostic fee. All DUII convictions must receive a mandatory alcohol evaluation to determine the extend of their alcohol problems.

Third Drunk Driving Conviction
If you are arrested and convicted for a third drunk driving offense in the State of Oregon you will have your drivers license permanently revoked. You will also spend from 48 hours to 1 year in Jail. The fine for your 3rd DUII conviction will be a minimum of $2,000. You will also be charged with other fees such as a $40 assessment fee, $130 fee for an intoxicated driver program, $95 unitary assessment fee, a county assessment fee of $59, and a $90 diagnostic fee. All DUII convictions must receive a mandatory alcohol evaluation to determine the extend of their alcohol problems.

Oregon Drivers License Issues

Oregon's implied consent law means that any person driving a vehicle in the state of Oregon gives their consent to submit to a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine if an officer of the law suspects that the driver is intoxicated. If you refuse to submit to such a test your drivers license will be immediately suspended. You will receive a temporary drivers license that will be effective until the date of your hearing. Refusing to take this test is evidence in court of a DUII. The penalties associated with refusal to submit to a test are usually harsher than a drunk driving conviction.



Lawyers in Your Area

Markers on the map indicate lawyers in your area. Click on them to find out more information or follow the link to our National DUI Attorneys or DUI lawyers listings.


Recent Articles

Can You Get a DUI While Riding a Bicycle?

Should You Ever Refuse a Breathalyzer Test?

What to Do If You Are Stopped on Suspicion of Driving While Intoxicated

Field Sobriety Test Problems

DUI - Blood Alcohol Content and the Effect of Time