Mississippi drunk driving laws have become more and more complicated and the penalties are more harsh that ever. The amount of alcohol a person can consume is becoming less and the effort to crack down on DUI's is rising. Most people arrested for drunk driving have never been in trouble with the law before, this will be the first time they were handcuffed, put into the back of a police car, and tried by the state in court.
The DMV and court process is confusing and there is no room for even the slightest error. Knowing the laws, penalties, fees and process is extremely important. The biggest mistake you can make is assuming that you don't need to speak to a lawyer. DUIs are very complex and a lot is at stake. If you plead guilty to a DUI, your guilty. No reducing, no plea bargaining, just guilty. Give your case a change, talk to a lawyer. You can schedule a free, no obligation consultation with an attorney today by calling (877) 678-5640.
The following driving actions are illegal in the State of Mississippi:
- All drivers with a BAC of .08 or higher.
- Under 21 with a BAC of .02 or higher.
- Commercial Vehicle Driver with a BAC of .04 or higher.
First Drunk Driving Conviction
The first drunk driving conviction you receive in the State of Mississippi will cost you a $250 to $1,000 fine or you may be imprisoned up to 48 hours in jail or both. You will also be ordered to attend and complete an alcohol safety program or attend a victim impact panel or both. Your drivers license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days and until you attend and successfully complete a alcohol safety education program.
Second Drunk Driving Conviction
Your second DUI committed within 5 years of the first you will be fined a minimum of $600 up to $1,500. You will also serve a minimum of 5 days up to 1 year in jail and be ordered to do community service work for no less than 10 days up to 1 year. Your drivers license will be suspended for 3 years. You will also receive notice, by mail, that any subsequent convictions will bring the possibility of forfeiture of your vehicle.
Third Drunk Driving Conviction
Your 3rd drunk driving conviction in the State of Mississippi will be considered a felony. You will be fined a minimum of $2,000 up to $5,000. You will also serve a minimum 1 year and up to 5 years in the custody of the Mississippi Department of Corrections. Provided there was no injury associated with the conviction, the felon may serve the 1 year in Jail instead of the State Penitentiary. There will be no allowance for the court to provide a sentence reduction. Any driver receiving a 3rd subsequent violation will have their vehicle forfeited and their drivers license will be suspended for 5 years.
Mississippi Drivers License Issues
The implied consent law in the State of Mississippi means that all drivers have agreed to submit to a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine if a law enforcement officer has reason to believe that the person is under the influence of drugs, alcohol or both. A refusal to submit to a chemical test will automatically result in the suspension of your drivers license for a period of 90 days without a previous conviction or refusal, or 1 year with a previous conviction or refusal.
Home » Drunk Driving » Mississippi DUI Laws, Penalties, and License Suspension
Lawyers in Your Area
Markers on the map indicate lawyers in your area. Click on them to find out more information or follow the link to our National DUI Attorneys or DUI lawyers listings.
Can You Get a DUI While Riding a Bicycle?
Should You Ever Refuse a Breathalyzer Test?
What to Do If You Are Stopped on Suspicion of Driving While Intoxicated
Field Sobriety Test Problems
DUI - Blood Alcohol Content and the Effect of Time